24 Hour Social Media Diary

 

When I was told that I would have to track my social media usage and document it, I knew I was in trouble. I can admit it. I am 100% addicted to Instagram and Youtube. I check Instagram constantly throughout the day. Sometimes, I even scroll through Instagram two seconds after I’ve already gone through my feed as if I’m expecting new photos to appear. I think I do this because a). I want to stay up-to-date with what my friends are up to (FOMO is a real thing) and b). scrolling through Instagram is the perfect procrastination tool. Youtube is a similar story. Because I love music and singing along to my favorite songs, Youtube is my go to spot for lyric videos. I tell myself that I will only watch one music video before I begin my homework, but that’s never the case. Before I know it, one music video has turned into listening to every Sam Hunt song that is possibly out there. I get it. I know what you’re thinking, and you are right. I shouldn’t be spending so much time on Instagram and Youtube, but what is your girl to do? It’s a habit, and more than a habit, it’s become part of my daily routine. Just like every other millennial. 

P.S. This diary does not accurately reflect my day-to-day social media usage because this weekend just happened to be very busy. Otherwise, there would have been a lot more Youtube and Instagram action going on.

September 10, 2016.

5:00 p.m. – 5:02 p.m. Opened Facebook to look at this week’s homework for class

5:05 p.m. – 5 :15 p.m. Created a Medium account. Read two posts: “Please stop believing billionaires are better than you” & “I don’t want you to fail”. Followed eleven media accounts.

8:21 p.m. – 8:23 p.m. Opened snapchat. Looked at a snap that a friend sent me and replied to it.

9:49 p.m. – 9:54 p.m. Scrolled through my Instagram feed and liked photos.

September 11, 2016.

12:22 p.m. – 12:37 p.m. Scrolled through my Instagram feed and liked photos. Took a look at the Explore page.

12:38 p.m. – 12:45 p.m. Looking at stories on snapchat.

12:47 p.m. – 1:20 p.m. Listening to songs on Youtube.

4:11 p.m. – 4:25 p.m. Checking my Facebook notifications. Scrolled through my newsfeed to see any new photo uploads. Getting my daily dose of celebrity news and gossip by reading headlines for E News, TMZ, and On Air with Ryan Seacrest. Clicking on ridiculous yet very entertaining stories like Buzzfeed’s “21 Reasons Dogs are the most precious beings in this planet”.

4:26 p.m. – 4:27 p.m. Took a quick look at Instagram to see any possible new posts.

4:27 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. Looking at Snapchat stories. Responding to snaps from my friends.

4:57 p.m. Posted a pic of my friends and I at the lake to Instagram and Facebook.

 

 

Leave a Reply

