My Twitter Experience

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 11.48.52 AM

My Twitter experience begins with this:

Prior to last semester, I did not have a Twitter account. I had to make one for a social media class that I was taking, and once the class was over, I deleted the Twitter app from my phone. Then this semester came around and I was required to reopen my Twitter account.

I had always been anti-Twitter and you might ask why, but I don’t really have an interesting answer as to why that was the case. I have always been late to jump on new social media trends which could be one possible answer, but still not very convincing. The only valid reason I can think of that may explain why I was so opposed to Twitter is that I just didn’t know that I would have any interesting to say. Sure, I could have made a Twitter account and followed a ton of people without actually putting out my own content, but that’s boring. Plus, I already had Instagram, Snapchat, and Facebook so Twitter just sounded like a lot more catching up to do.

Although I still wouldn’t consider myself a Twitter fanatic, I can say that I’ve learned a few things from my Twitter experience, and I’ve summed them up into three main points that I thought were worth sharing:

1.  You are your brand.

I’m sure you’ve heard this about a thousand times already, but it’s true. You ARE your       own brand. Aside from face-to-face interaction, people can get a sense of who you are through your social media presence. Just like it’s common to want to make a good impression on people when you meet them for the first time, it’s important to make a good impression online as well. You want to make sure that your content is an accurate reflection of who you are as a person. I think it’s easy to find oneself in a particular mood  and want to use Twitter to vent but it’s not worth it. An insensitive or inappropriate tweet can cost you in the future especially when looking for a job, because employers will Google your name and might come across those tweets. Save yourself the trouble. Please.

2.  It doesn’t alway have to be funny or clever, it just has to be meaningful.

I think the greatest challenge I faced when creating tweets was that I was so preoccupied with sharing content that was witty or humorous. I spent way too much time coming up with the “perfect” tweet, or what I thought was the perfect tweet, until I gave myself a reality check. I realized that if I was thinking too much about a tweet before posting it, then I probably shouldn’t be posting it in the first place. It should be natural and organic and true to me. I learned that my tweets don’t have to be spectacular or wow worthy, they just have to be meaningful to me and to my audience. That’s all.

3.  Make sure to follow Chrissy Teigen on Twitter.

Chrissy Teigen, John Legend’s wife, is probably the funniest person I came across on Twitter. Her tweets are so genuine and unapologetically true to her, which I absolutely love. She’s a Twitter gem. Follow her. You won’t regret it, I promise.

Until next time ❤

-Giselle Adriana

 

One comment

  1. rachelmarierice · April 24

    I felt the same way about the twitter assignment. I was so concerned about coming up with the perfect tweet that it made the assignment a more difficult than it needed to be. I loved your three points about twitter and what you got out of it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

